Kerala Boat Race League to sizzle the backwaters

Alappuzha: Move over Indian Super League and Pro Kabaddi League. Here comes the rowers!

Kerala’s famed snake boat races may soon dart into the league of celebrity sports if a proposal by an expert committee gets the state cabinet’s approval.

The Kerala Boat Race League (KBL) proposes to integrate the scattered boat races across Kerala into a single league that starts with the Nehru Trophy Boat Race at Punnamada in Alappuzha on the second Saturday of August and culminates in a grand finale at Kottappuram in Thrissur on the second Saturday of October.

The showpiece Nehru Trophy boat race will be followed by seven races at Pulinkunnu, Kayamkulam, Kodimatha, Karuvatta, Mannar, Kainakari and Piravom on consecutive Saturdays. The winners of the seven races will compete at the final round at Kottappuram. Three finalists will be chosen according to the points they scored in the league matches.

The proposal will come up for the perusal of the cabinet on June 21. The expert committee was formed as per a suggestion by finance minister T. M. Thomas Isaac, who represents Alappuzha. Former MLAs C. K. Sadasivan, K. K. Shaju, Alappuzha municipal chairman Thomas Joseph, R. K. Kurup, Joyikkutty Jose, S. M. Iqbal and James Kutty Jacob comprise the panel.

Original Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *